Return to Headlines

Parish Students of the Year Advance to Regionals

The 2020-2021 St. Charles Parish Students of the Year will move on to compete in the regional contest in 2021. The three students (Eric Jones of Destrehan High School, Saniya Abbas of Albert Cammon Middle School, and Jackson Porter of R.J. Vial Elementary School) were announced at a ceremony on December 3. Each student was recognized with an acrylic movie poster plaque, and the parish level winners also received star awards.  To be selected as a student of the year, a student must earn a cumulative 3.1 grade point average and be in grade 5, 8, or 12. All students of the year must compile a portfolio, write a biographical sketch, and be interviewed by a Student Achievement Committee.

Click here to see pictures of the 2020-2021 Students of the Year. 

2020-2021 Students of the Year 

Saniya Abbas, Albert Cammon Middle School (parish winner)
Milandi Benedict, Harry Hurst Middle School 
Cade Crochet, J.B. Martin Middle School
Jonah England, Ethel Schoeffner Elementary School
Dilon Friloux, Luling Elementary School
Eric Jones, Destrehan High School (parish winner)
Ryli Martin, R.K. Smith Middle School
Jackson Porter, R.J. Vial Elementary School (parish winner)
Angelina Sander, Hahnville High School
Juliana Santos, St. Rose Elementary School
Reece Surmik, Norco Elementary School
Drake Woodruff, Lakewood Elementary School