Return to Headlines

SCPPS Home to State Winners!

St. Charles Parish Public Schools is home to both the OVERALL STATE Teacher of the Year and Principal of the Year! Congratulations to Hahnville High's Brittany Bonnaffons, LA Teacher of the Year, and Harry Hurst Middle's Dr. David Schexnaydre, Jr., LA Principal of the Year! We are so proud of you! The Louisiana Department of Education announced today (July 20) their selection as the 2023 Teacher and Principal of the Year state-level winners! We are St. Charles Parish Public Schools Proud!

In partnership with Dream Teachers and the Louisiana Association of Principals, the Department annually recognizes and celebrates the state's leading educators through Louisiana’s Educator Awards Programs. These programs provide an opportunity to acknowledge teachers and leaders who are making exceptional gains with students. This year, the Department and Dream Teachers will celebrate the state elementary, middle, and high school Louisiana Teachers and Principals of the Year; Louisiana Early Childhood Teacher of the Year; Louisiana Early Childhood Leader of the Year; and Louisiana New Teacher of the Year at the 16th Annual Cecil J. Picard Educator Awards Gala at the World War II Museum in New Orleans on July 30.